Canada · 2026–2027 admissions cycle
Does McMaster University Nursing, Basic and Accelerated require Casper?
Yes
Acuity Insights lists McMaster University Nursing, Basic and Accelerated as requiring Casper for the 2026–2027 admissions cycle.
Source: Acuity Insights, Test date & school information. Checked October 7, 2026. Requirements change, so confirm on the school's admissions page before you book a test.
What Acuity lists for McMaster University Nursing, Basic and Accelerated
| Program | Cycle | Casper | Duet |
|---|---|---|---|
| Undergraduate Nursing | 2026–2027 | Required | Not required |
| Nursing- Undergraduate | 2025–2026 | Not stated | Not stated |
Acuity's note for applicants
Important: A valid McMaster University Student ID is required to ensure your Casper scores are properly linked to your application. McMaster IDs are issued after you have submitted your OUAC application and paid the applicable fees. You have two options when registering: 1. Wait to register until your McMaster ID has been issued. 2. Register using a placeholder ID, but it is essential that you update your registration with your valid McMaster ID as soon as it becomes available. Failure to update your ID may result in your Casper scores not being matched to your application, which could impact your application status.
Which Casper test to book
Acuity groups programs into test types, and you sit the one your programs belong to. McMaster University Nursing, Basic and Accelerated is listed under “Canada Casper 1 (English)” for Canada. A Casper score counts for one admissions cycle and one test type, and you cannot sit the same test type twice in a cycle.
42 other programs in Canada are listed under the same test type for 2026–2027, so one sitting can cover any of them too. Some of them:
- Assiniboine College Practical Nursing
- Brandon University Nursing
- Brandon University Psychiatric Nursing
- College of the Rockies Nursing
- Dalhousie University Veterinary Technology
- Fanshawe College Practical Nursing
- King's University College School of Social Work
- McMaster University Nursing, Basic – Mohawk College Site
- McMaster University Nursing, RPN-BScN: Mohawk site
- Mount Royal University Midwifery
- Mount Royal University Nursing
- North Island College Nursing
What the Casper test is like
- Scenarios
- 11 in total: 4 video-response scenarios first, then 7 typed-response.
- Questions
- 2 for each scenario.
- Video answers
- A 10-second countdown, then 1 minute recorded for each answer.
- Typed answers
- 3.5 minutes to type both answers for a scenario.
- Breaks
- Optional breaks during the test.
- Scoring
- Raters score each response on a 1–9 scale. You only receive a quartile.
How to answer empathy questionsHow to answer ethics questionsHow to answer collaboration questionsHow to answer communication questionsHow to answer equity questions
More on Casper
- Casper typing speed
How many words fit in the 3.5-minute typed section.
- Casper test dates and registration
How to book, what it costs and which test dates are still open.
- How Casper is scored
Raters, quartiles and what programs see, from Acuity's own pages.
- Casper video responses
The 1-minute format, timing rules and how to prepare.
Practice Casper on the real timers
Video and typed scenarios in the current format, every answer scored 1–9, and your own answer improved line by line. Start with 7 days free.
Start my free trial